Monday, December 9, 2013

Day 1

I started Silas bare bum and followed him around all day. I put him on the little Fisher price potty whenever I thought he was going to go (as opposed to after he started to go). I spent a maddening amount of time in front of him while he sat on the potty and didn't go.

I've been using Happy Baby Happy Yogis as treats (in lieu of candy or other non-healthy things) and they are doing the trick just fine. He gets them just for sitting on the potty but gets a BUNCH when he actually pees. I didn't want to do the whole "pump them full of salts and sweets and juice" to get them to pee more. I just offered him more water and healthy snacks than usual and he was perfectly happy to eat and drink what I offered. No need to have him indulge on unhealthy things just to get him to pee. I will confess I used cartoons to help hold him on the potty longer. He normally doesn't watch much TV but I'm pregnant and tired of running around so...there.

I put him in a diaper for his nap and then again at the end of the day. Cardinal sin, I know. There was no "Say bye-bye to the diapers" stuff and I wasn't committed to the idea of never putting him in a diaper again. There is something called "survival" and if I was going to do that, I couldn't quit diapers cold turkey. Judge me if you want. It was all I could do to make it to 5:00 on Day 1.

Totals:
Successes: 7
Accidents: 6

End of Day 1 sentiment: I don't know that he's getting it but we'll see what happens.


No comments:

Post a Comment